HTC Women Honored With Leadership in Technology Award

The Houston Technology Center is proud to announce two key women have been nominated for the prestigious Leadership in Technology Award issued by the Houston Chapter of the National Association for Women in Computing (AWC).  Aruna Viswanathan and Sharon Fortmeyer-Selan, along with 21 women from 16 different companies, will be recognized at a gala dinner and reception at the Inter-Continental Hotel June 21.

Viswanathan is Director of Business Development for the Houston Technology Center, where she helps new companies developing software and hardware-related technologies.  Since joining HTC in 2001 she has worked with more than 30 businesses in the areas of business development, raising capital, strategic marketing and building management teams. Viswanathan, who previously worked for Motorola’s wireless subscriber signal processing division, also worked with two successful software start-up companies.

Fortmeyer-Selan, as a member of HTC’s Service Provider Network, has created marketing plans for several HTC client companies including Vuico, LLC and FrogPad.  At Vuico Fortmeyer-Selan developed branding, packaging and pricing for GoWireless™ and connectWireless™. While at FrogPad she created branding, positioning, launch strategy and marketing plans.

“Aruna has been a wonderful asset to HTC as she has helped so many companies get their start and Sharon has been a great addition to our Service Provider Network, “ said Paul Frison, President and CEO of the Houston Technology Center. “These women both have made significant contributions to our organization and we are proud they are being honored by the National Association for Women in Computing.”

In 2002, the AWC event attracted more than 500 supporters of technology developments in Houston including business and political leaders.  This year more than 700 people are expected to attend.  Proceeds support the Kathi Bowles Scholarship for students pursuing technology degrees at Houston-area universities.

The 2003 Leadership in Technology Award winners

  • Alicia Acebo – Continental Airlines
  • Lori Allen – BMC Software
  • Sushma Bhan – Shell Chemicals
  • Cindy Boyd – Sentigy, Inc.
  • Cheryl Brown – Hewlett Packard
  • Teresa Carroll-Childers – CSC
  • Lynn Cranford – Hewlett Packard
  • Twila Day – SYSCO Corporation
  • Parmita Derden – Phoenix EDH
  • Deborah Dinsmore – Sterling Bank
  • Linda Durham-Goff – Hewlett Packard
  • Sharon Fortmeyer-Selan – Vuico
  • Mary Beth Gracy – Accenture
  • Jodie Kontowicz-Mark – Cap Gemini Ernst & Young
  • Mary Lawrence – Lyondell Chemical Company
  • Marcia Meaux – Hewlett Packard
  • Mary Nugent – BMC Software
  • Suzanne Quinn – Hewlett Packard
  • Mimi Reilly – Hewlett Packard
  • Bettina Samper – Hewlett Packard
  • Karla Stuebing – FSD Data Services
  • Aruna Viswanathan – Houston Technology Center
  • Kimberly Williams-Smith – Texas Instruments

About the Association for Women in Computing (AWC)

The National organization was formed in 1978 to encourage women in technology-related careers.  The Houston chapter is among the largest and oldest in the country.

Source: Houston Technology Center