HTC Adds Five To Board Of Directors

Houston Technology Center (HTC), Houston’s business accelerator, has named five new members to its board of directors. Elected to the HTC board are Geary Broadnax, chairman and CEO of Dovarri, Inc.; Gale E. Burkett, founder of GB Tech, Inc.; Gilbert Moreno, president and CEO of The Association of the Advancement of Mexican Americans (AAMA); Jacqueline Northcut Waugh, president of BioHouston, Inc.; and Lane Everett Sloan, University of Houston Bauer College professor and former CEO of Shell Chemical Company.

Broadnax is chairman and CEO of Dovarri, Inc., a Houston-based CRM software company that provides sales management and customer relationship management solutions. Broadnax has received numerous awards of distinction, including the Small Businessperson of the Year award given by the Houston SBA in 1999, and he has twice been a finalist for the Ernst & Young’s Entrepreneur of the Year Award.

Burkett founded GB Tech, Inc., a science and engineering firm, in 1985. The company provides science and engineering professionals to the NASA Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center and its major contractors. Under Burkett’s direction, GB Tech, inc. acquired Space Industries International, Inc., Air-O-Space International and Unlimited Consulting Services, Inc., which recently merged with The Parkhurst Corporation.

Moreno is president and CEO of The Association for the Advancement of Mexican Americans (AAMA), the ninth largest Hispanic non-profit in the nation with $9.2 million in revenues. Prior to his work with AAMA, Moreno was a CPA and worked for such firms as Coopers and Lybrand, Price Waterhouse Coopers and Vinson and Elkins.

Northcut Waugh is currently president of BioHouston, Inc., a Houston-based life sciences company that brings together entrepreneurs, investors and Houston’s professional workforce with a mission to grow Houston to become a competitive life science region. In previous roles, Northcut Waugh served as the CEO of a business unit, managing sales and marketing, operations, management and administration for Arthur Andersen.

Sloan retired from Shell Oil Company in late 1999 after completing 29 years of service. After leaving Shell, he joined Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC) in 2000 where he was the executive vice president for its energy sector. That same year he became CEO of GrandBasin, a joint venture between Halliburton and SAIC. Sloan currently teaches courses primarily focused on corporate strategy and leadership at the University of Houston’s Bauer College of Business.

“We are very excited about these five individuals joining our board of directors,” said Paul Frison, president and CEO of HTC. “Their contributions of time and experience, coupled with their passion for technology, will be invaluable to HTC as we continue our mission to grow the thriving technology community in the City of Houston.”

Broadnax, Burkett, Moreno, Northcut Waugh and Sloan join 27 other prominent members of HTC’s board of directors. The board now includes:

Morrie K. Abramson, Chairman, Morrie K. Abramson, Interests; Chairman (Ret.), Kent Electronics; Chairman, University of Houston System Board of Regents

Robert Beauchamp President and CEO, BMC Software

Lloyd M. Bentsen III President, Bentsen Financial Corp.; Chairman, Houston Technology Center

Rod Canion Chairman, Insource Technology; Chairman, Questia Media, Inc.; Founder, Compaq Computer Corporation

Michael D. Capellas Chairman and CEO, WorldCom, Inc.

Nancy T. Chang, Ph.D. President and CEO, Tanox, Inc.

M. Robert Dussler President and COO, Palmetto Partners, Ltd.

Douglas J. Erwin Former President and CEO, PentaSafe Security Technologies, Inc.

Ralph D. Feigin, M.D. President and CEO, Baylor College of Medicine

Paul M. Frison President and CEO, Houston Technology Center

Malcolm Gillis, Ph.D. President, Rice University

Vijay Goradia Chairman, Vinmar International

Bernard A. Harris, Jr., M.D. President and CEO, Vesalius Ventures

Gen. Jefferson D. Howell, Jr., Director, NASA – Johnson Space Center, ex officio

Bruce Leslie, Ph.D. Chairman, Houston Community College System

Martin Lindenberg, M.D. Former Chairman and CEO, Xeotron Corporation

M. David Low, M.D., Ph.D. President (Ret.), The University of Texas-Health Science Center-Houston

David B. McWilliams Chief Executive Officer, Signase, Inc.

John Mendelsohn, M.D. President, The University of Texas-MD Anderson Cancer Center

Matthew R. Simmons Chairman, Simmons & Company International

Priscilla D. Slade, Ph.D. President, Texas Southern University

Arthur K. Smith, Ph.D. Chancellor, University of Houston System; President, University of Houston

John D. Stobo, M.D. President, The University of Texas – Medical Branch-Galveston

Willie A. Tempton Interim President, Prairie View A & M University

Massey Villarreal President, Precision Task Group, Inc.

James T. Willerson, M.D. President, The University of Texas – Health Science Center-Houston

R. Blake Young Executive Vice President, Administration and Technology, Dynegy Inc.